Welcome to 
Oxford Houses of North Carolina 

                                                    A publicly supported, non-profit 501(c)3 corporation

Locations

Oxford House
World Services

Traditions

Manuals & Forms

Chapters

State Association

Leases and Zoning

October Events

NC Brochure

House Directory (Excel)

Links

F. A. Q.

Update House Vacancies
















N.C. CONTACTS

John Fox
Regional Outreach Manager
919/395-8192
john.fox@oxfordhouse.org

Misty Wilkins
Outreach
919/520-5793

misty.wilkins@oxfordhouse.org

Keith Gibson
Outreach
919/673-1042

keith.gibson@oxfordhouse.org

Meagan Norton
Outreach
252/256-2875

meagan.norton@oxfordhouse.org

Will Madison
Outreach
336/383-7735

will.madison@oxfordhouse.org

Tony Sowards
Outreach
919/630-1500
tony.sowards@oxfordhouse.org


Brooke Gower
Outreach
703/447-3932
brooke.gower@oxfordhouse.org


Kurtis Taylor
Outreach / Reentry Coordinator
919/247-7831
kurtis.taylor@oxfordhouse.org 

Paula Harrington
Special Projects

919/616-3020
paula.harrington@oxfordhouse.org

Karen McKinnon
Women's Resource Coordinator
for Wake County
919/812-8282
karen.mckinnon@oxfordhouse.org

Kathleen Gibson
State Coordinator

919/395-8206
kathleen.gibson@oxfordhouse.org

North Carolina State Oxford Houses:

Oxford Houses are a clean and sober housing option for individuals in recovery. The first North Carolina Oxford Houses were established in Durham and Asheville, NC in the spring of 1991. North Carolina is part of a network of 1,600 Oxford Houses with more than 13,200 beds. As of June 2014 there are 176 houses in North Carolina, with locations in 29 cities. With an average of 8 beds per house, there are more than 1,300 Oxford House beds in the state. Individuals typically enter an Oxford House after completing a drug and alcohol treatment program. Individuals living in a house are expected to participate in a recovery program in the community during their residence.

Basic House Rules

 Houses operate democratically, electing house officers who serve six-month terms.

 Houses are financially self-supporting; members split house expenses, which average  $90.00 to $125.00 per person per week.

 Any Resident who relapses must be immediately expelled.

Eligibility:

It is preferred that Individuals complete a treatment program, depending on what treatment options are available in that area and be drug and alcohol free for 14 days or more (longer is preferred) at the time of application. They must also be willing to accept the house rules and expectations, and be able to pay their share of the expenses.

How to Refer:

Individuals who are interested in living in an Oxford House apply directly to the house of their choice. If there are vacancies, an interview will be scheduled. The interview with an applicant involves all members of a house. Eighty percent of the house members must vote to accept the applicant as a roommate.

Counselor Pre-Screening:

Substance abuse counselors are the primary source of referrals to Oxford Houses. Getting a workable match between the individual and the Oxford House is important, as residents who are disruptive and not serious about recovery can cause serious problems for a house. Counselors can be a big help if they take the time to pre-screen potential referrals, The following criteria are afforded for use.

Is the individual willing and able to live in a shared housing arrangement?
Has the individual shown reasonable behavior in an in-patient setting?
Has the individual thought about his/her own recovery and is he/she determined for recovery?
Does the individual have a recovery plan when he/she finishes treatment?

Suggest that your client think about Oxford House as a living situation for a few days before completing an application. Applicants should consider if Oxford House is a fit for them? 

For more information call North Carolina State Oxford House Office at 
919-395-8192